Property damage liability coverage is a part of a car insurance policy that covers damage you cause to another person’s property or vehicle. In most states, this coverage is required by law to be included in your policy, as it will cover the costs of repairs when you are at fault in the accident.
However, this coverage generally will not cover damage to your own vehicle. You’ll need additional coverages, such as collision coverage, if you wish to have your own personal repair costs covered.
What are the requirements?
As previously mentioned, you are required to have a certain amount of liability coverage as part of your auto insurance. The mandatory coverages will differ from state to state. In Florida, you are required to have at least $10,000 of property damage liability insurance, which will include legal representation if you are sued as a result of causing property damage.
There are also limits to the amount your policy will pay for a covered claim. You’re able to choose your own liability coverage limits when you purchase your policy, and you can adjust those limits at any time you see fit. Most people will set their limits higher than the minimum required by the state.
If you’re in Florida and you only choose the minimum $10,000 coverage but the amount of damage exceeds that, you’ll need to pay the rest out of pocket. This is why having a higher amount of coverage can be beneficial—it can help you avoid out-of-pocket costs. Just keep in mind that higher coverage limits mean higher premiums, so it becomes something of a balancing act to give you sufficient coverage without it resulting in excessive premium costs.
For more information about property damage liability coverage, contact an experienced auto accident lawyer in Bradenton at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez & Walsh.