Since January 1 of 2018, there have been 102,756 hit-and-run cases in Florida, including 21,511 injuries and 215 fatalities. Those whopping statistics indicate just how pervasive of a problem hit-and-run accidents are in the state, but they don’t indicate the full extent of the effects that a hit and run can have on a victim.
People who fall victim to hit-and-run accidents are more likely to deal with issues of post-traumatic stress, even than other accident victims. It can, in certain circumstances, also be more challenging to get the same level of compensation after a hit-and-run claim that they might get from a standard personal injury claim.
Effects on offenders
It is also worth mentioning that the people who commit hit and runs also subject themselves to some significant penalties and repercussions should they get caught. About 80 percent of investigated crashes ultimately get resolved, according to a supervisor at the Sarasota Police Department.
Fleeing an accident site after causing property damage is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida that carries a maximum of 60 days in jail, plus a $500 fine. If there are injuries, it can rise to the level of a second- or third-degree felony, punishable by a revoked license for at least three years, up to five years of prison time and a $5,000 fine. If a death occurred in the accident, it will be a first-degree felony with at least a three year license suspension, at least four years in prison (and up to 30) and a $10,000 fine.
For more information about the serious effects and consequences of hit-and-run accidents in Florida, contact an experienced Bradenton, FL personal injury lawyer at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez & Walsh.