Personal Injury and Auto Accident Attorneys Serving Florida
  • RSS Feed
  • Facebook
  • Linked In
  • Twitter
Sarasota, Florida 941-954-1234
Bradenton, Florida 941-752-7200
Default Banner

Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer

The lawyers of Goldman Babboni Fernandez & Walsh have more than 100 years of combined Florida legal experience in personal injury, wrongful death and negligence cases. David Goldman, and Michael Babboni have each represented accident victims throughout Florida for over twenty years. Ber…

Learn More ›

Personal Injury Blog Post

Filing for Workers’ Comp in Florida: What You Need to Know

Workers’ compensation is designed to give money to employees who suffer injuries on the job that put them out of work. The compensation covers medical treatment, lost wages and other necessary financial assistance in the aftermath of an accident.

Not just anyone is eligible for workers’ compensation. Floridians filing workers’ comp claims just meet certain requirements, including having reported the injury within a reasonable amount of time.

Reporting the injury

The first step to beginning the workers’ comp process is notifying your employer of your injury. Florida law requires you to report most injuries within 30 days to be eligible for workers’ comp. The exception is for injuries or illnesses that develop over a longer period of time, in which case you must notify the employer within 30 days of discovering your condition was related to your employment.

The notification you provide to your employer should include as many details as possible about when the accident occurred, how it happened and the symptoms you’ve suffered as a result. Your employer will select a doctor to analyze you unless you need emergency treatment. Make sure you give the doctor complete information about the injury as well.

Continuing the process

After giving proper notification to your employer, your employer is required to report your claim to its insurance provider within a week. If the employer refuses to report your injury, you have the right to contact the insurer yourself. In either scenario, the insurance company will review your case and your eligibility. Expect an analysis of your medical records, work experience, wages and education, as well as possible further medical examinations, including a functional capacity evaluation.

After all this is complete, the insurance company will be required to promptly approve or deny benefits. If approved, you’ll begin receiving benefits, but if denied, you have the right to appeal the decision.

For more information about filing for workers’ compensation in Florida, contact an experienced Bradenton, FL personal injury lawyer at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez & Walsh.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

In order to help you more quickly, please fill out the quick form and submit.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Contact Form
Goldman Babboni Fernandez & Walsh
3550 S. Tamiami Trail, 3rd Floor
Sarasota, Florida, 34239 USA
941-954-1234