Every person in Florida is required to be insured if they are going to be behind the wheel of a car. They must also meet certain minimum requirements for their coverage.
Here’s a quick look at the state’s minimum insurance requirements dictated by law:
- Bodily injury coverage: This coverage is designed to protect drivers from liability in car accidents that injure another person. It helps you pay their medical expenses and lost income that exceed the personal injury protection coverage they have in their own insurance plans. The minimums here are $10,000 per individual and $20,000 per accident.
- Property damage coverage: This coverage is exactly what it sounds like—protection against property damage done during an accident. All Florida drivers are required to have at least $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
- Personal injury protection: This is the coverage that protects you in an accident and reimburses you for medical expenses, lost wages and pain and suffering. You must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection.
- Uninsured motorist coverage: Unfortunately, you cannot trust that everyone on Florida’s roadways is going to be insured. You are required to have $10,000 per individual and $20,000 per accident under this coverage.
Keep in mind that all of these numbers are mandatory minimums. You are welcome to exceed these coverage amounts by as much as you wish.
Want to learn more about what Florida requires in terms of car insurance for drivers in the state? Contact an experienced Bradenton, FL personal injury attorney at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez & Walsh for more information.