Are you wondering how much car insurance coverage you should purchase? Florida has some general ground rules for minimum coverage. These are the following:
- Bodily injury liability: $10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $10,000
- Uninsured motorist: Not required
- Underinsured motorist: Grouped with uninsured coverage, not required
- Medical payments: Not required
- Comprehensive: Not required
- Collision: Not required
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $10,000 for emergency medical conditions, $2,500 for non-emergency medical conditions
Again, these are simply the minimum coverage amounts you need to purchase in the state. This level of coverage does not offer you much protection, especially if you get into an accident in which the other person involved does not have any insurance.
All drivers should carry insurance
Like any other state, Florida has serious penalties for anyone who is caught driving without insurance, including a license suspension for up to three years. If you cause an accident while uninsured and other people sustain injuries, you would be responsible for paying for those damages out of pocket.
In addition, Florida is a no-fault insurance state. Because of this, the insurance company for the injured driver will likely sue you for reimbursing the damages it paid out if you were responsible. This could take quite some time to pay off, and the state could even suspend your license until you have met your obligations.
To learn more about car insurance in Florida and what you need to know about coverage, contact a trusted Bradenton personal injury lawyer with Shapiro, Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez & Walsh.