A recent report from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles indicates the frequency of hit-and-run accidents increased about 7 percent from 2013 to 2015.
In 2015, there were more than 92,000 hit-and-run accidents reported in the state. Approximately 25 percent of these crashes involved pedestrians. In Hillsborough County alone, hit-and-run accidents increased by more than 400 over the last year, with 11 people dying in those accidents.
In one accident on State Route 64 in Manatee County, a man had run out of gas and was walking along the highway to locate a gas station. A driver in a 2011 to 2016 Ford F Super Duty truck struck the man, then immediately fled the scene. The man ultimately died of his injuries. It was just the latest of a string of high-profile hit-and-run crashes to have happened in Florida in recent weeks.
Taking legal action after a hit and run
Dealing with injuries after a hit-and-run crash can be challenging, as law enforcement authorities may or may not be able to locate the perpetrator. In many cases, victims or their families are forced to make claims on their uninsured motorist coverage to cover costs like medical bills, lost wages and property damage.
In Florida, the law requires anyone involved in an auto accident to stay at the scene until police arrive — regardless of who was at fault. A failure to do so could result in felony charges for the offender.
If you have been injured in a car accident you believe was due to the negligence of another party, consult the trusted Bradenton personal injury lawyers at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez, Murphy & Walsh right away.