Getting a driver’s license is a major teenage rite of passage. Most teenagers are eager to hit the road and enjoy their newfound freedom—but it’s important that you understand the limitations placed upon teen drivers. These rules help ensure their safety while allowing them to drive during certain hours.
Here’s what you need to know about teen driver laws in Florida.
Limitations on teen drivers
Florida’s graduated licensing system allows teens to practice driving to gain experience. They’re eligible to apply for a learner’s permit when they turn 15 years old.
After applying for a learner’s permit, there are certain restrictions. In the first 90 days after receiving the permit, teen drivers can only drive until 10 p.m., during daylight hours. They also must be accompanied by a licensed driver over age 21.
Next, the teen driver must hold their learner’s permit for at least one year and complete 50 hours of certified practice. Once they’ve met these requirements, they can apply for a driver’s license—but other limitations still apply. 16-year-olds are then allowed to drive between 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. 17-year-olds are allowed to drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.
Once the driver reaches age 18, most of the restrictions are removed.
Insuring your teen driver
Most parents choose to insure their teen driver under their own policy once they receive their intermediate license, although you should be aware that your premiums will go up. All drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 each in personal injury protection and property damage liability coverage—but you may choose to increase that amount.
Teaching your child safe and responsible driving habits will keep them and others safe on the road, but accidents can still happen. If you’ve been hit and injured by a teen driver, talk to the skilled Sarasota, FL auto accident lawyers at Goldman, Babboni, Fernandez, Murphy & Walsh to learn more about your options.