Personal Injury and Auto Accident Attorneys Serving Florida
  • RSS Feed
  • Facebook
  • Google +
  • Linked In
  • Twitter
Sarasota, Florida 941-954-4000
Bradenton, Florida 941-752-7200
Default Banner

Experienced Personal Injury Lawyer

The lawyers of Shapiro, Goldman, Babboni & Walsh have more than 100 years of combined Florida legal experience in personal injury, wrongful death and negligence cases. M. David Shapiro, David Goldman, and Michael Babboni have each represented accident victims throughout Florida for over…

Learn More ›

Auto Accidents Blog Post

Don’t Leave the Scene: Crucial When in an Auto Accident

Auto accidents affect millions of Americans every year, whether through death, injury, property damage or financial loss. Whether you are the party at fault, or an innocent victim, it pays to understand the laws of the highway and be familiar with your rights and duties.

Christopher Williams, 47, was the victim of an auto accident. Struck by an SUV in a Sarasota hit and run, Williams died at the driveway of his home. Police are still investigating who was responsible for the accident. For failing to stop, the driver now faces possible felony charges.

Your duty to stop

Under Florida law, if you are involved in an accident that leads to death or injury, you are required to stop your car as close as possible to the scene of the crash, without obstructing traffic, and remain at the scene until you have fulfilled your legal obligations:

  • Give your contact information, vehicle registration number and driver’s license to the other party and to the police officer investigating the crash.
  • Provide appropriate assistance to the injured person in order to help them get medical treatment.
  • If the injured person is unconscious or otherwise unable to receive the information, and no police officer is on the scene, you must immediately report the accident to the local police.

If you cause damage to an unattended vehicle or property, you are required to stop immediately, and either notify the owner of the vehicle or property, or leave a note with your details. You may also need to notify the local police.

The penalties for not stopping

If you do not stop your car after you have been involved in an accident that results in an injury, you could face imprisonment for up to five years and a fine up to $5,000. If the accident results in a death, failure to stop can lead to up to 30 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. If the accident led to property or vehicle damage only, you could face imprisonment of up to 60 days, and a fine of up to $500. In addition to imprisonment and a fine, your driver’s license will be revoked, and the court likely will order you to pay restitution to the victim for any loss you caused.

Failing to stop at the scene of an accident can have serious consequences that may affect you for the rest of your life. If you have been in an accident, make an appointment with a dedicated Bradenton auto accident lawyer to protect your rights.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

In order to help you more quickly, please fill out the quick form and submit.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Contact Form
Shapiro, Goldman, Babboni & Walsh
308 Cocoanut Avenue
Sarasota, Florida, 34236 USA
941-954-4000